Tomasz Krzyzkowski, the No. 3 player on the Ragin' Cajuns men's tennis team, made the All Louisiana Squad on his 17-3 singles record.

Undefeated Martina Rubesova of Northwestern State and LSU's No. 1 player Neal Skupski captured player of the year honors as the Louisiana Sports Writers Association announced its 2010 All-Louisiana College men's and women's tennis teams.

The teams were selected based on nominations made by the tennis playing schools in the state and voted on by an LSWA panel. All statistics and voting are based on play through each team's conference tournament appearance.

Rubesova, a sophomore from Usti na Laben, Czech Republic, was 18-0 in singles and 19-0 in doubles this year and was invited to the 64-player NCAA Tournament singles championship, the only Louisiana women's player invited this year. She helped the Lady Demons to a 21-2 record that earned them Southland Conference regular season and tournament titles. The sophomore played NO. 3 singles and No. 2 doubles for the Lady Demons after transferring from the University of Economics in Prague. Rubesova was also chosen Louisiana Newcomer of the Year for first-year players in the state.

Neal Skupski, the younger brother of former LSU two-time singles All-American Ken Skupski, peaked at No. 26 in the ranking this year. The sophomore from Liverpool, England, defeated nine nationally-ranked opponents and earned team MVP honors after anchoring LSU at the No. 1 spot. He was also an individual entrant for the Tigers in the NCAA singles championship.

The other women's honorees were Keri Frankenberger of LSU earning Freshman of the Year honors and Patric Dubois of Northwestern State as Coach of the Year.

The other top awards for men went to Demitry Kozionov of Nicholls as Freshman of the Year, Hassan Abbas of Xavier as Newcomer of the Year and Jim Hunter of Nicholls was named men's Coach of the Year.

Frankenberger earned All-SEC second team honors and was named to the SEC Freshman team, winning 25 matches overall and scoring the match-clinching point in four contests. The Gainesville, Fla., native posted a team high seven SEC wins as she became just the third Lady Tiger freshman named to an All-SEC team.

Dubois guided the Demons, a team with no seniors and two newcomers to a 21-2 record and the SLC regular season and conference titles and a spot in the NCAA Tournament. The Demons were the state's only NCAA women's team representative. The Demons joined Stanford as the only two Division I teams in the country with just two losses.

Kozionov was 15-4 in his first year at Nicholls as the product of Ivhevsk, Russia earned SLC Freshman of the Year honors and was All-SLC first team honors, winning his final seven matches at No. 4 singles.

Abbas won Gulf Coast Athletic Conference newcomer honors after leading Xavier in singles (22) and doubles (14) wins. He played No. 2 singles for the team that repeated as GCAC champ, advancing to the NAIA national championship qualifier. He was No. 21 in the NAIA South Rankings and six wins against D-1 opponents.

Coach Hunter led the men's team to its best record in school history with a 14-6 mark and was one of five coaches nationally to lead both the men's and women's teams to finishes above .500 records in 2010. The Colonels made the SLC Tournament for the second consecutive year.

Joining Rubesova and Frankenberger on the women's first team were Claire Clark of Louisiana-Monroe, Mariam Kurdadze of Tulane, Kathrin Lange of Northwestern State and Anatesia Opata of Xavier.

The men's first team additions included Sebastian Carlsson of LSU, Steffon Giles-Osborn of Xavier and Thomas Krzyszkowski of Louisiana-Lafayette.

Because of the number of nominees in each division and under LSWA rules, a second team was chosen only on the women's team.

LSWA 2010 Men's Collegiate All-Louisiana Tennis Team
Hassan Abbas/Xavier/Jr./Saltaire, England/22-8 record, GCAC Newcomer
Sebastian Carlsson/LSU/Jr./Uppsala, Sweden/20-16 record, ITA-Arthur Ashe Leadership Award
Steffon Giles-Osborn/Xavier/So./Atlanta, Ga./GCAC Player of the Year
Dmitry Kozionov/Nicholls/Fr./Ivhevsk, Russia/15-4 record, SLC Freshman of Year
Thomas Krzyszkowski/Louisiana-Lafayette/So./Gdyna, Poland/17-4 record, success at 1, 2, 3
Neal Skupski/LSU/So./Liverpool, England/17 singles wins, NCAA Singles Entry

Player of the Year - Neal Skupski, LSU
Freshman of the Year - Dmitry Kozionov, Nicholls State
Newcomer of the Year - Hassan Abbas, Xavier
Coach of the Year - Jim Hunter, Nicholls State
Honorable Mention - Radu Ionescu, Nicholls - Junior, Bucharest, Romania; Phenyo Matong, Nicholls - Senior, Gaborone, Botswana; Rodrigo Rappaccioli - Tulane -- Fr., Managua, Nicaragua.

LSWA 2010 Women's Collegiate All-Louisiana Tennis Team
First Team

Claire Clark/Louisiana-Monroe/Jr./Bossier City, La./1st team Sun Belt; 22-1 in singles
Keri Frankenberger/LSU/Fr./Gainesville, Fla./25-14 record, 2nd team SEC, SEC Freshman team
Mariam Kurdadze/Tulane/So./Tbilisi, Republic of Georgia/1st team C-USA; 6th in Southern Region \
Kathrin Lange/Northwestern State/Jr./Emmingen, Germany/17-4 record, 1st team All-SLC
Anatesia Opata/Xavier/Sr./Lawrenceville, Ga./21-8 record, GCAC POY two times
Martina Rubesova/Northwestern State/So./Usti na Laben, Czech Republic/18-0, All-SLC, NCAA invitee

Player of the Year - Martina Rubesova, Northwestern State
Freshman of the Year - Keri Frankenberger, LSU
Newcomer of the Year - Martina Rubesova, Northwestern State
Coach of the Year - Patric DuBois, Northwestern State

Second Team

*Kaitlin Burns/LSU/Fr./Wilmington, N.C./20-18 record
*Morgane Dadot/Southeastern Louisiana/So./Reunion, France/15-6 record
Angelina Callis/Xavier/Sr./Los Angeles, Calif./23-6 record, All-GCAC 3rd time
Emma Levy/Tulane/Fr./Princeton Junction, N.J./2nd team All C-USA; No. 11 Southern region
Florina Nosca/Nicholls/Jr./Bralia, Romania/15-6 record, 14 doubles wins
*Vivian Polak/Louisiana-Monroe/Jr./Barendrecht, Netherlands/20-3 record, All-SBC doubles
Bianca Schultz/Northwestern State/Jr./Ballinger, Germany/17-3 record, 1st team All-SLC
Whitney Wolfe/LSU/So./Pride, La./18 singles wins, 23 doubles wins

*Tied for the position

Honorable Mention -- Audrey Chelini, Southeastern Louisiana - Sophomore - Bordeaux, France; Vivian ten Dolle- Louisiana Tech- FR.- Gelderland, Netherlands; Monica Winkel, ULM - Sophomore, Bornaire, Netherlands Antilles; Natalia Zamora, Nicholls - Junior, Pueblo, Mexico

This is a submitted article.  Send your press releases and articles on UL, the UL District, and quality of life in Acadiana-- particularly education & culture-- to by clicking here.

Follow Cajuns Sports:
Athletic Network