NEW ORLEANS - The Sun Belt Conference released its schedule and seeding order for the 2011 Sun Belt Women's Basketball Championships on Sunday.

Top seeds and divisional champions Middle Tennessee and UALR highlight the field of all 12 member institutions for the championship that will be held March 5-8 in Hot Springs, Arkansas.

UALR and MT along with Denver and FIU earned byes into the quarterfinals of the tournament championship. The first round and the quarterfinals of the championship will take place March 5 and 6 with the league utilizing a two court system as games will be played in Summit Arena and the Convention Center Court. The semifinals and championship game will be played exclusively in Summit Arena.

The first round and quarterfinal games can be viewed exclusively on the Sun Belt website as SBC Extra will webcast those games. The semifinal matchups will be aired on the Sun Belt Network with the championship match being broadcast nationally on ESPNU. Additionally, the semifinals and championship game can be viewed on and ESPN Full Court.

Tickets for the tournament are available through and the Summit Arena box office (501.620.5003).

Sun Belt Conference Women's Championship Seeds

East Division
1. Middle Tennessee (14-2, .875)
2. FIU (10-6, .625)
3. WKU (9-7, .562)
4. South Alabama (8-8, .500)
5. Florida Atlantic (4-12, .250)
6. Troy (2-14, .125)

West Division
1. UALR (13-2, .867)*
2. Denver (11-5, .688)
3. Louisiana-Monroe (9-7, .562)^
4. Arkansas State (9-7, .562)^
5. Louisiana (4-12, .250)
6. North Texas (2-13, .133)*

* UALR and North Texas will play Tuesday, March 1 in the final Sun Belt regular season game. That game will not change the tournament seeding.

^ Louisiana-Monroe and Arkansas State both have 9-7 records. However, Louisiana-Monroe owns the head-to-head tiebreaker having defeated Arkansas State twice during the regular season.

Sun Belt Conference Women's Championship Schedule

First Round
Game 1: (E3) WKU vs. (W6) North Texas - 12:00 p.m. - Summit Arena
Game 2: (E5) Florida Atlantic vs. (W4) Arkansas State - 12:15 p.m. - Convention Center Court
Game 3: (E6) Troy vs. (W3) Louisiana-Monroe - 2:15 p.m. - Summit Arena
Game 4: (E4) South Alabama vs. (W5) Louisiana - 2:30 p.m. - Convention Center Court

Game 5: (E1) Middle Tennessee vs. Winner Game 2 - 12:00 p.m. - Summit Arena
Game 6: (W2) Denver vs. Winner Game 1 - 12:15 p.m. - Convention Center Court
Game 7: (W1) UALR vs. Winner Game 4 - 2:15 p.m. - Summit Arena
Game 8: (E2) FIU vs. Winner Game 3 - 2:30 p.m. - Convention Center Court

Game 9: Winner Game 5 vs. Winner Game 6 - 12:00 p.m. (Sun Belt Network) - Summit Arena
Game 10: Winner Game 7 vs. Winner Game 8 - 2:30 p.m. (Sun Belt Network) - Summit Arena

Championship Game
Game 11: Winner Game 9 vs. Winner Game 10 - 1:00 p.m. (ESPNU) - Summit Arena

All times Central (CT) and subject to change

This is a submitted article.  Send your press releases and articles on UL, the UL District, and quality of life in Acadiana-- particularly education & culture-- to by clicking here.

Follow Cajuns Sports:
Athletic Network