Ragin’ Cajuns head football coach Mark Hudspeth has been nominated for the 2011 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award.  He is currently ranked at #6 by fan voting, with 3,742 votes.  The frontrunner is Kansas State's Bill Snyder, who has 13,773 votes.  Help Coach Hud get more votes! Add a link to this article on your facebook page.

Coach Hud's profile from the Liberty Mutual website:
Hudspeth spent the 2009 and 2010 season at Mississippi State, where he helped turn around a football program that had only one winning season in a nine-year span. The Bulldogs finished 2010 with an 8-4 record, earning a Gator Bowl trip vs. Michigan. Prior to his appointment at Mississippi State, Hudspeth spent seven seasons as the head coach at North Alabama.

Awards: 2003, 2006 NCAA Division II Region 2 Coach of the Year by the American Football Coaches Association.
Two-time Gulf South Conference Coach of the Year

Liberty Mutual only lists the previous season's statistics, and attributes them to the current coach. As such, Hudspeth's statistics are listed as:
Season Record: 3-9
Number of Team Penalties: 68
Conference Penalty Average: 81.3

To vote for Coach Hudspeth, click here.

The top 25 coaches, with current votes are as follows:
 1 Bill Snyder, Kansas State - 13773 Votes
 2 Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State - 11699 Votes
 3 Dabo Swinney, Clemson - 11221 Votes
 4 Nick Saban, Alabama - 5606 Votes
 5 Chris Petersen, Boise State - 4379 Votes
 6 Mark Hudspeth, Louisiana - 3742 Votes
 7 Gene Chizik, Auburn - 3651 Votes
 8 Mike Sherman, Texas A&M - 3383 Votes
 9 Dana Holgorsen, West Virginia - 2928 Votes
10 Rich Ellerson, Army - 2832 Votes
11 Doug Marrone, Syracuse - 2277 Votes
12 Les Miles, LSU - 2101 Votes
13 Ruffin McNeill, East Carolina - 2034 Votes
14 Paul Rhoads, Iowa State - 1956 Votes
15 Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern - 1934 Votes
16 Troy Calhoun, Air Force - 1852 Votes
17 Dan Mullen, Mississippi State - 1398 Votes
18 Bobby Petrino, Arkansas - 1093 Votes
19 Bob Stoops, Oklahoma - 1020 Votes
20 Joe Paterno, Penn State - 902 Votes
21 Bo Pelini, Nebraska - 831 Votes
22 Kirk Ferentz, Iowa - 745 Votes
23 Mark Dantonio, Michigan State - 694 Votes
24 Paul Johnson, Georgia Tech - 557 Votes
25 Mack Brown, Texas - 521 Votes

To see all 120 nominations, visit here and click 'View Full List'.

Created in 2006, the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year award recognizes one college football coach from each NCAA division (I-FBS, I-FCS, II and III), rewarding them for their sportsmanship, integrity, responsibility and excellence. Winners will receive $50,000 to donate to a charity of their choice, a $20,000 grant to each school's alumni association and the Coach of the Year trophy.

Fan voting will decide the top 15 coaches from each division. From there 10 coaches from Division I-FBS and five coaches from each of the three other divisions will be based on the criteria below.

Sportsmanship: Total personal foul penalties committed by head coach, staff or players.
Integrity: Integrity violations committed by head coach, staff or players on and off the field including NCAA compliance violations.
Responsibility: Participation in community service projects by either an individual coach or team during the 2011 year.
Excellence: On the Field - Winning percentage, current season ranking, total penalties and year-over-year improvement in win percentage and team ranking.
     In the Classroom - Divisions I-FBS and I-FCS are measured by current academic progress rate (APR) scores and year-over-year APR score change in comparison to division. Divisions II and III are measured by the total number of Academic All-Americans in the past three seasons ('10, '09, '08).

Fans can vote once each day until the Dec. 4 deadline when the 15 finalist will be chosen.

This is a submitted article.  Send your press releases and articles on UL, the UL District, and quality of life in Acadiana-- particularly education & culture-- to ultoday.com by clicking here.